Buddy Read Review Heartless…

buddy-read-rev

Argh me maties!

Yup, we are pirate buddies! And this is our first joint review for our first buddy read! Ooh, this is exciting! Grab your parrots, eye patches, treasure for we be setting sail…

Heartless
Title
: Heartless
Author: Marissa Meyer
Published: 2016
Pages: 453

Synopsis: Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Our Thoughts:

Kayla: I will say this, the words used to describe things were beautifully done.  I personally found this to be extremely hard to get into and in fact had to switch from a book to audiobook just to keep myself reading.  I would say about 1/3 of the way in I started to enjoy it and about 2/3 of the way in the book felt extremely rushed and I found myself wishing that the first chunk had been shorter and the last bit had been longer and more detailed.
As for the characters, I really didn’t like Catherine, I found her to be childish and I just could not empathize with her.  She kept saying “I don’t want this” but went along with everything anyways but the story left it open like she had a choice.  I wouldn’t say that this makes it a bad book because I do agree that we don’t need to like a character to have a good book but I felt like she had no growth.

I did like Jest and actually wished the story had been from his perspective and that we’d seen more of him and Raven, or even gotten more with Hatter.  I won’t go into details just in case this hasn’t been read yet but the ending twist with Hatter really bothered me.  I felt like it was a last-minute attempt to add something that people keep asking for.  I think if that was going to be attempted it needed to be added in earlier in the story to build on.

Personally, I give this a 3/5. I do feel like the story itself was carried through but I found it lacking.

Neko:

Where to begin! I really enjoyed the book; the descriptions and figurative language were vivid and beautiful, the world fanciful and colorful, Raven was my absolute favorite character (Rest in Peace Poe), though Jest and Hatter were also great, and all of the side characters really brought the story to life. I felt the author stayed true to the feel of the original stories and that it was an interesting take on how the queen of hearts came to be and why she is so, well, heartless.

I did have a problem with Cath saying one thing then flat out doing the opposite… She had no back bone when it really mattered and that got old fast, as did her flipping out at her maid. I’ve come to save you when I know it is a bad idea! Screw you for things going wrong! Yup, real good friend there Cath… Also like Kayla, the Hatter twist seemed just kinda thrown in…

For me the book was a solid 4/5. I really hope the author writes more, maybe something about Jest and the Chess realm, I would really like to learn more about him, Raven, and the struggles they have faced that lead up to this work.

So, how many of you guys have read Heartless? What are you thoughts? And… Discussion questions!

1. What do you think the authors definition of heartless is?

2. Do you think you can be heartless and still have such a strong desire for revenge?

Talk to us!! We like to argue and discuss!
3 thoughts on “Buddy Read Review Heartless…

  1. Shower pondering left me with this: Cath was left without the ability to love, be kind, etc… No one ever says “wow that person over there screaming at the waiter is really heartfelt!” That is what the author means by “heartless”. Boohyah!

    Like

  2. Pingback: End of the Month Wrap-Up… | Books, Boxes, & Baubles

  3. Pingback: Throwback Thursday Themes… | Books, Boxes, & Baubles

Leave a Reply

