Questions From a New Book Blogger

2018.png

Hold onto your hats everyone!

A little bit of a different post here but I thought it might be fun to ask all the questions I’ve been wondering about as we ramp up.  If people have input/answers that would be wonderful.

My plan is in one year I will re-post these questions and include any answers from things that we’ve learned.  I think sometimes as we gain experience we forget things we had we were unsure of when we first began.

1. I see “Spoiler Free” every so often on book reviews.  Should I be including that if there aren’t any, or should I include spoilers? What do people typically read if they read reviews? And can nonfiction books have spoilers?

2. If we plan on eventually changing our hosting for our blog/website, should we do things in preparation for it? Is it better to stick to one location?

3. When should one create a “review policy” page? I see it on most of the blogs I’ve looked at but not sure if it’s too soon to add ours. Is there a standard for this?

4. Are there other sources for photos for banners other than Canva?

5. Are there other places to interact with bloggers outside of the actual blogs?

6. How do people manage the social media? Pick one and run with it?

7. How often should blogs post? Do people like memes? Or Just reviews?

8. What to post on twitter? Questions and unique content? Or stick to announcing what is posted here?

9. Do people like reviews of books older than a few years if they were not on the best sellers list?

10. Should we put a line at the end of each review noting if there is anything that would offend people? (I.e. bad language, adult themes, violence, gore, etc)

I’m sure there are many others that I’m not thinking of but these are in the forefront of my mind right now.  Are you a new blogger and have questions other than these?  Comment below with your questions, answers, and input to our questions is always welcome as well.

6 thoughts on “Questions From a New Book Blogger

  1. Hi Kayla! I’m also a new book blogger, too. But after months of trying to learn hold to hold the ropes, I can answer a few of your questions!
    3. A review policy is for authors and publishers to know what are your interests, how you accept book, etc. If you want authors and publishers to send you books, it is wise to have a review policy so they know if their book will be good for you. Also, you should put things like what is your accepted format, how do you consider books, etc. It is really necessary if you want books sent to review.
    5. From advice from other bloggers, Twitter is the best to make blogger friends!
    7. I would personally blog every two to three days. Readers like posts to be frequent but not too frequent. And it’s best to have a variety. I don’t do memes, but it’s good to have one or two. Don’t overload blogs with too many memes or reviews or interviews. Mix it up!
    If you ever need anything, just contact me! I’ll be happy to help! Nice to meet you! 😊

    Like

  2. Thanks for the info on the review policy, that helps me to understand it a bit better at least. And we have a twitter! Now I just have to figure it out a bit better… for now we will keep reviewing and posting as we have been but thank you for your honest feelings on the subject!!

    Like

    • You are so welcome! I’m happy to help! I’m still learning new things every week about blogging, too! Don’t worry, you’ll get the hang of everything! I like your latest review! You’re going to do great! It’s nice to meet you! I hope to keep in touch, and we could become blogger friends! 😉

      Like

  3. I’ve been blogging for a while, over 5 years. And honestly, the answers really depend on why you’re blogging. There’s things that I used to do, but that I’ve stopped doing. I used to participate in cover reveals just to get my blog out there circulating. But, I’ve stopped because I really want to promote books that I can get behind. I used to do blog tours, but stopped because of the requirements that all reviews had to be 3 stars or above or you had to wait until after the tour.I didn’t have a review policy posted until maybe a couple of years ago. As far as how I read review books, I’m consistent. But the genre is changes sporadically. It’s your blog, do it the way that works for you. The only post that comes out weekly, on my blog, is my Friday Reads post. Blogging every 2-3 days can be a lot, especially if you are just starting out. But, again , that depends on you, the purpose for blogging and how much time you have to commit to it. For every 100 blogs that you find blogging one way, you’ll find another hundred that does it completely different. I have seen blogs start and die from burn out (reading burn out and blogging burn out). The one true way to maintain and grow your blog is to be authentic to who YOU are. That goes for content as well. If you want to review backlist books do it (unless you’re already connected to authors and publishers, that’s the best and most accessible way to do it.) Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! Thank you so much! Right now we ate just having fun trying everything we can, but I understand the burn out. You’ve given us plenty to think about and we really appreciate your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

