Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books

0001-42Guys!

Top 10 Tuesday, is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they have a different topic and this week it is ‘Top Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So’.  Since there are two of us here, we’re going to split this in half.

Let’s get to it!

The Last Herald-Mage Trilogy

Kayla:

The Last Herald-Mage Trilogy by Mercedes Lackey.  I should
probably apologize in advance because this author is one of my favorites and she has so many books to pick from.  I recently re-read this and honestly I’ve been extremely surprised how many people I’ve talked to haven’t read her books.  This isn’t an Own Voices trilogy but she is known for writing diverse and authentic characters.  I highly recommend anything by her.

 

Being Happy!

Being Happy by Andrew Matthews.  I feel like this book contains every golden nugget that all the self-help books out there share but also has pictures.  I read this probably three years ago (it’s recent!) and for how short it is I actually took my time with it.  When I finished this book I promptly bought a few copies to hand out anytime a friend or family member shared a little bit of interest in it. I also may have left a copy at the office I was working at. 🙂

 

The Truth About Style

 

The Truth About Style by Stacy London.  I freely admit I picked this book up originally because I watched the TV show What Not to Wear. I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed this book and how easy it was to connect with her on an emotional level.  She shares a lot about her journey and why she went into fashion.

Do Over: Rescue Monday, Reinvent Your Work, and Never Get Stuck

 

Do Over by Jon Acuff.  I actually listened to this on audiobook in early 2016 but greatly enjoyed it.  It’s a nonfiction book for people who need a little jumpstart.  I’m sure the book itself is great but I would strongly suggest the audiobook.

 

 

Burned by Magic (The Baine Chronicles, #1)

 

Burned by Magic by Jasmine Walt.  I found this author thanks to amazon unlimited.  This series is 6 books in and I’ve enjoyed them all.  It falls under Fantasy/Urban Fantasy which is easily one of my favorite genres.  They are all fast read’s so if you have amazon unlimited it’s worth picking up.

 

 

Neko:

Rising (Stargate Atlantis, #1)

 

Stargate Atlantis Rising by Sally Malcolm. If you are a fan of the Stargate franchise I highly recommend reading the novellas that have been released, Rising in particular if you like Atlantis at all. The book adds back in all of the little things that were cut due to time constraints for the series premiere as well as gives more info about the characters.
Lady of the Forest

Lady of the Forest by Jennifer Roberson. It’s been more than a year since I last read this but it is still one of my favorite Robin Hood stories. This telling starts more at the beginning of tale with Robert newly returned to Locksley from the Holy land and fighting in the crusades. I like that he isn’t a normal guy, he is struggling to get back to normal life, he has nightmares, sees little point in balls and the likes, etc… If you love fantasy pick up a copy, you won’t be disappointed!

 

A Lady Raised High: A Novel of Anne Boleyn

A Lady Raised High by Laurien Gardner. I love this book because it follows Frances Pierce, Anne Boleyns Maid of Honour, as she traverses being a young teen in the Tudor court. Francis has to learn that flirting is not harmless, secrets carry power, and anyone close to the King’s new love has a bulls eye on their backs. Wonderfully written, engaging, with all the evil details one could want!

 

Heartless

 

Heartless by Marissa Meyer. Remember that reading slump I said I was in? Yup, haven’t read many books in the last few years so I bring you Heartless again! This is such a wonderful backstory of the Queen of Hearts and how she came to be. The characters and lands all feel like they are straight out of Lewis Carroll’s mind, this could be his lost manuscript! My favorite part is that even though this is a Y.A. it doesn’t read like one, the writing is vivid and compelling, no See Dick run feel to it!

The Way of Shadows (Night Angel, #1)

 

The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks. The whole trilogy is wonderful! So captivating that you will blow throw all three books before you even know it. I love that Week’s world isn’t the happy place we usually see in fantasy kingdoms, there is death, despair, treachery, assassinations, you name it they do it. The cast is real, no one has it easy, the plot remains interesting throughout the series, and the ending wraps everything up nicely without a necessarily “happily ever after” feel. Again dark but a good read.

 

Those are the hidden gems we know of, what are yours?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books

  1. My hidden Gem has to go to Marking Time by April White. Its the first book in her Immortal Descendents series and blew me away. I’ve heard the rest of the series is just as good as the first book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry I just saw your comment! Your gems look amazing. Obituary society sounds interesting, as does This Common Secret. I like reading books from professionalso with unique jobs. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

