Shelf Control

Today we bring you Shelf Control! by Bookshelf Fantasies where we pick a book that we own but haven’t read to talk about.

Kayla

76865

Good To Great by Jim Collins

Goodreads Synopsis:
“The Challenge
Built to Last, the defining management study of the nineties, showed how great companies triumph over time and how long-term sustained performance can be engineered into the DNA of an enterprise from the very beginning.
But what about the company that is not born with great DNA? How can good companies, mediocre companies, even bad companies achieve enduring greatness?….”

How long has this been on my shelf: A little over 4 years

Why do I want to read this: A little over 4 years ago, I was working at a start-up company that was growing faster than we could handle.  One of the founders of the company ended up flying out to our office and dedicated a day to asking everyone what they thought of the office, what they felt should be improved, etc.   Later that day we all got pulled into a meeting and he gave this grand speech, talked about never being stagnant and how we all adapt and grow and companies need to do the same thing.  His version was much better when he said.  One thing that stood out is he’d mentioned that this book had a huge impact on his life and helped him envision where he wanted to take the company.
I don’t know about you guys but any time an extremely successful person mentions a book in high regard, I write it down and try and read it to glean what I can….yet this book is still on my shelf…well….actually it’s on my desk at my office reminding me that I need to read it.  Since then I’ve had several other successful people mention this book and this author.  One of these days I’ll actually pick it up…..I probably should make it a 2017 goal.

 

Neko the Geko

Synopsis:“Richard Mayhew is a young man with a good heart and an ordinary life, which is changed forever when he stops to help a girl he finds bleeding on a London sidewalk. His small act of kindness propels him into a world he never dreamed existed. There are people who fall through the cracks, and Richard has become one of them. And he must learn to survive in this city of shadows and darkness, monsters and saints, murderers and angels, if he is ever to return to the London that he knew.”

How long has it been on your shelf and why do you want to read it?
I got this back in… Massachusetts (I only remember years based on what state/city I was in) so around January of 2015 I would guess. Honestly, I hear a lot about Gaiman but have yet to read anything by him. Strange I know. So the title, cover, and author were the initial reasons I grabbed the book. That’s usually how book finding goes with me: interesting title? Check. Cool cover art? Check. Then I get around to the description and if it is a known author great, if not welcome to the family. As for why I have yet to read this little treasure… I bought it in the middle of a reading slump that has continued since… Pretty much Monday. Finally I want to read this book because… The description sounds wonderful! I love darker things and this really spoke to me, hoping it will be creepy and awesome!

 

So what book is on your shelf lost but not forgotten? And have you read either of our books?

Leave a Reply

